A number of my fellow Endometriosis bloggers have been commenting upon an Internet predator, so I just wanted to take a minute here to warn anyone who comes to my site to also beware of this character.
He has not made any comments on my blog but please beware of him.
He goes by “Dr. Greg” and by “Dr. Gregory Smith”.
Word has it that he is preying on Endometriosis blogs and forums, and that he reaches out to befriend people, then sets about asking for your personal health info. From there, he launches into inappropriate sexual questions.
Always do a Google search for the person’s name or comments before granting them any requested personal information. Too often you will, sadly, find that they are spammers and/or predators. Report them immediately.
Thanks and take care, everyone!

Related Articles
2 users responded in this post
THANK YOU for posting this! I had some run in with him on one board AND DID NOT TRUST HIM.
The ERC not only allowed him to join, but ‘scooped him up’ and allowed him on the board or some such thing!!! It was VERY upsetting. THANK YOU for posting this.!
Steph,
There are several blogs with warnings on this issue. I don’t normally make it a habit of posting links in comment fields but figured that, in this case, you wouldn’t mind me doing so since they are all relevant to this post!
Here are the ones I know of…
“Endochick’s” endo blog warning (a great general warning about Internet safety… not just about this individual allegedly posing as a doctor) is:
http://endochick.wordpress.com/2009/01/06/bloggers-protect-yourself/
“Melissa Ralston’s” new endo blog (warning about “Dr. Greg”) is:
http://endobattle.blogspot.com/2009/01/warning-to-endo-community-dr-gregory.html
“Squidgeboo’s” new endo blog – ‘Squidgeaboo’s Endo Blog’ (warning about “Dr. Greg”) is:
http://endosquidge.wordpress.com/2009/01/08/warning-to-the-endo-community-dr-gregory-smith/
“Jeanne’s” blog called ‘Jeanne’s Endo Blog’ (my blog) – warning about “Dr. Greg”):
http://endendoat.blogspot.com/2009/01/warning-to-endometriosis-community.html
I also later wrote a follow-up post that mentioned resources available for women regarding sexual abuse.
Given the allegations made against “Dr. Gregory Smith”, I felt it was important to give resources for women who have been abused.
For that link, see this post:
http://endendoat.blogspot.com/2009/01/tori-amos-music-break-for-healing-quote.html
In light of the alarming/frightening interactions reported by endo patients who interacted with “Dr. Greg”, I felt it important to provide options for help, for any who might need it.
Again, involving the proper authorities is the way to go…
Finally, this person can re-surface at any time using a different name, email address, or alias. I urge women to keep their guard up. Endochick’s link above give some particularly helpful tips on Internet safety.
Jeanne
P.S. A felow endo blogger had email exchanges back and forth recently with a large endometriosis organization regarding this issue. The matter is apparently under investigation. I would urge any woman who has knowledge about this individual to contact the authorities and share what they know! I have no means whatsoever of validating the comments made above. All I can say is that anyone who has reason to believe that this individual has acted improperly needs to inform *the authorities* (whether that be police, FBI, etc.)! I believe the FBI has a unit dedicated to online “cyber-crimes”. I must re-empahsize that this person could pose as a man, woman, doctor, non-doctor… There is no way to tell.
Please guard your personal health information, your geographical location, and your name if at all possible. This person is unlikely to have become SO involved with multiple online endo support groups (large ones) to then just drop out of site never to return. The individual’s Facebook profile vanished but that does not necessarily mean this person is “gone”! Stay vigilant!